An RFI is simply a formalized question and answer process. Hence, application will let users to delete RFI only before the answer to the question (mentioned in RFI) is submitted. Users will be able to delete RFIs with status: DRAFT, OPEN, VOID, REJECTED and RE-OPENED.
User may draft an RFI but before submission discover that they no longer need to ask their question because they found the answer before asking. Hence, the need to delete the unwanted RFI.
RFI deletion process
- Open the RFI list screen
- Click [More options] button for a specific RFI
- On the opened menu click [Delete] button
Application will display a confirmation message stating “Are you sure you want to delete RFI?”
- Click [Yes] button to delete the RFI.
A confirmation message stating that RFI deletion is successful is displayed to the user.
Note: [Delete] button will appear disabled if the RFI has a status of RESPONDED or CLOSED
After deletion, the application displays the deletion action as an activity on the Project activity > Document activity screen.
Pointers on RFI deletion
- Delete option will be available in device. An RFI in device will be deleted by swiping left on an RFI row, similar to deleting a form in the ARC Facilities app.
- The following users will be able to delete an RFI:
- Account owner - Yes
- Project owner - Yes
- RFI creator – Yes
The following users will not be able to delete an RFI:
- Any active recipients - No
- Any user having project access - No
3. Only one RFI deletion is allowed at a time from the RFI list screen (RFI deletion from Viewer is not allowed)
- A lower RFI can be deleted without deleting a higher RFI. i.e. if RFI #007 exists then it is possible to delete RFI #005 without deleting RFI #007 & RFI #006.
a. There is no need to re-allocate RFI number. As once a RFI number is saved in project setting section, it cannot be modified
b. If the deleted RFI number was the last created RFI, then the deleted RFI number will also be the next RFI number. However, let’s assume that RFI #007 & #006 exist, but RFI #005 is deleted. In this case, the next RFI number should be RFI #008 (the last RFI number plus 1).
- Only RFIs in Draft, Open, Void, Re-opened, Rejected state can be deleted. Closed and Responded RFIs can not be deleted.
- After deletion, email notification is send to all the concerned users associated with the RFI
- Email template: Subject Line – RFI [RFI Number] has been deleted for [Project Name]
“Project: [Project Name]
RFI [RFI Number] [RFI Subject] has been deleted from SKYSITE Projects by [First name of user that deleted RFI][Last name of user that deleted RFI].
SKYSITE Projects Team”
ii. Recipients list: RFI Creator, RFI Recipient, RFI Cc’d Users
- The action of deletion is recorded and displayed as an activity that an RFI has been deleted in the Project Activity section.
- The attached photos with the RFI will not be deleted after the RFI is deleted, but will remain in the project gallery
Note: Check is ongoing whether attachment can be deleted after RFI deletion.
- It is not required to check delete logic for each and every user action in RFI pop-up. The chances of a user deleting an RFI while another user has it open in another window are very minimal.
- If any RFI is deleted from web/other device server will push one change set to device for this activity. When the device to which the changeset is send is offline, the change set will still be pushed the next time a user connects to internet.