A brief RFI workflow with supportive screenshot is provided below for the RFI creation, completion closure. Since, the assigned user is selected from the 'Contacts' section (during RFI creation), the assigned user is either an account user (user added as an employee in the account from the Settings > Users tab) or an external project collaborator (the project within which the RFI is created is shared to the user with full access). This means that the assigned user already has access full access to the project within which the RFI is created and assigned.
The sequential workflow is given below,
User creates an RFI and the RFI is displayed under the My RFI tab of the creator account. This is shown in the screenshot below,
The status of the RFI before response is OPEN.
The assigned RFI is displayed under the RFI assigned to me tab of the assigned user. This is shown in the screenshot below,
The assigned user now opens & views the assigned RFI. This is shown in the screenshot below,
The assigned user can reassign the RFI to another user (please check 'Viewing RFI at project-level' help file for more details on RFI reassignment).
The assigned user enters the 'Answer' to the RFI and clicks the [Reply] button to send the response back to the creator of the RFI. Before replying the assigned user can add files as attachments in the RFI from his/her local system. After RFI response is send, the status of the RFI changes from OPEN to RESPONDED. This is shown in the screenshot below (as viewed by the assigned user under the 'RFI assigned to me' tab),
The assigned user can open the responded RFI and view the RFI. This is shown below,
Note: The creator or the assigned user cannot reassign a responded RFI. Both these users can reassign a RFI with status OPEN i.e. before the RFI has been responded.
The creator will receive the responded RFI under the My RFI tab. This RFI is shown in the screenshot below,
The creator now open the RFI and can close, void or reject the RFI. The screenshot of a still open but already responded RFI (Status: RESPONDED) as viewed by the creator of the RFI is shown below,
Creator can mark the RFI close if he/she is satisfied with the response, can mark the RFI as rejected if he/she is not satisfied with the response or can mark the RFI as void if he/she interprets that the RFI has become invalid or if duplicate RFIs of the same query exist in the application.
If the creator chooses to close the RFI, then the status of the RFI changes to CLOSED. This is shown in the screenshot below,
The creator can view the RFI under the My RFI tab & whereas the assigned user can view the closed RFI under the RFI assigned to me tab.
The creator (under the My RFI tab), assigned & CC users (under the RFI assigned to me tab) can now view the closed RFI. This is shown in the screenshot below,
Only the creator of the RFI can re-open a closed RFI.
Only the creator can reject a responded RFI by clicking the [Reject RFI] button, if he/she does not feel satisfied with the answer given in the RFI. The RFI with status rejected can be viewed on the RFI Dashboard screen. This is shown below,
Creator (under the My RFI tab), assigned & CC users (under the RFI assigned to me tab) can click to view the rejected RFI. This is shown below,
Only the creator of the RFI can re-open a rejected RFI.
Only the creator can make an RFI void (both after or before response) by clicking the [Void RFI] button, if he/she feels that the RFI is no longer required or duplicate RFIs related to the same query already exist in the project. The RFI with status void can be viewed on the RFI Dashboard screen. This is shown below,
Creator (under the My RFI tab), assigned & CC users (under the RFI assigned to me tab) can click to view the voided RFI. This is shown below,
Note: There is no option to re-open a voided RFI.
The creator can choose to reopen a closed or rejected RFI by clicking the [Reopen RFI] button if he/she thinks that the answer to the same RFI is required again from the original assigned user or from a different user (by reassignment). The assigned user will not be able to re-open the RFI, hence the [Reopen RFI] button will not appear to the assigned user. If creator re-opens the RFI, then the status of the RFI changes to RE-OPENED. This is shown in the screenshot below,
Creator (under the My RFI tab), assigned & CC users (under the RFI assigned to me tab) can now view the re-opened RFI. This is shown below,
Again, the same cycle of RFI response, closure will continue like a freshly created RFI. You can re-open a closed RFI any number of times.
RFI as viewed by CC users:
Users in CC list can only view RFIs and enter comments (with attachments). These users will be able to change status of RFI. These users can view the RFI under the All RFI tab. The screenshot below displays an RFI with RE-OPEN status as viewed by an user in the CC list:
Downloading RFI Details
You will have an option to download the RFI details in PDF format by clicking the Generate PDF icon [highlighted by the red rectangle in the screenshot below].
The download can be performed from the RFI Dashboard screen. Whenever you click on this button, multi-page pdf document consisting of RFI details, associated sheet and all the attachments will be created. This PDF document will be downloaded and saved in your local system.
The cover page of the downloaded RFI in pdf format is shown below,
Brief workflow of RFI in schematic form:
Important points to note:
Shared users logging into SKYSITE cloud & device with read-only privileges will not have access to RFIs and its related items
The assigned user should have access to the same project under which the RFI is created in order to receive and respond to the RFI.
The Project owner/account admin user will have option to perform status change and enter comments only if they are part of the RFI i.e. have created the RFI or are included as the assigned user or CC user. If they are part of the RFI, their action will be determined by the position in which they belong to the RFI life cycle i.e. whether Creator or Primary recipient (TO) or CC. If they are not part of the RFI they cannot do anything to the RFI; they will only be able to view the RFI as READ-ONLY.
After re-opening an RFI the assigned user can reply to the re-opened RFI. Previously entered answers will also be shown on the re-opened RFI.
RFI custom attributes i.e. custom field entry; number of response day entry & starting number can only be defined by Project Creator and Account Owner.
RFIs created at project level will not be shown in the Viewer drop-down of that related document but RFI’s created in Viewer will be shown in the RFI List Screen.
Operations performed on the RFI Module are similar at Project and Viewer Level.
Attachments – After RFI has been created and sent, new attachments cannot be added or existing attachments cannot be deleted.
Comments – Attachments can only be associated with the RFI through the comments section after entering text in the Comments box.
Settings – The users will not be able to edit custom field names or add new custom fields (not more than 5) after RFIs have already been created at Project & Viewer level using the Custom fields. Though no custom field once created can be removed.
Draft RFI – Draft RFI will not sync to server and from server to client. This means that Draft RFIs created in cloud will not get downloaded in the device even after syncing of the project (under which the RFI is created) between cloud and device. Hence, Draft RFIs created in cloud will not be displayed in device. Although, user will have the option to save RFI as draft in device as well as cloud. Any RFI created in device in an offline mode will have a status of Draft.