Various file/folder actions that can be taken from the desktop are described below.


  1. Add: Add (copy) files or folders inside the synced project repository in desktop.

The newly copied files and folders [highlighted by the red rectangle in the screenshot above] inside the synced project location in desktop will be uploaded to the cloud inside the same project.

 

    a. Files and folders will appear in the cloud as unpublished files inside the project> folder.

 

    b. By using Select button [highlighted by the red rectangle in the screenshot below], user can accomplish publishing of newly uploaded multiple files in cloud through sync.


    c. After selection of multiple files by clicking on each file, clicking on more (…) option and clicking on Publish button [highlighted by the green rectangle in the screenshot below] on the opened-up menu, user can publish the selected         files. 


        This is shown in the below figure,


    d. To move out of the Select mode click the [Back] button.


    e. After successful upload of files in the cloud, user will see the notification in the desktop. This will happen only if the user has turned on the settings for notifications,


    f. User can see the count of unpublished files in the cloud at project level and folder level.


    g. On clicking the unpublished icon at project level, user will see all the unpublished files for that project, which may exist in same folder or different folders.


    h. To view all unpublished files which are available in different folders under the same project, the user will have to click on [View unpublished item(s)] button.


    i. After clicking this button only, the unpublished items inside the project are displayed,


    j. User can click on Publish all button [highlighted by the green rectangle in the screenshot above] to publish all unpublished files present inside the project simultaneously.


    k. User can again use the ‘Select’ mode to select specific unpublished files and then publish those files. This is done by first clicking the Select button and then clicking the Publish button on the opened-up menu.


        2. File Delete: 

                a. Whenever an unpublished file is deleted in desktop, the same will be deleted from the cloud as well.


                b. Whenever a published file is deleted in the desktop, the same will be downloaded back (still as published).


        3. File Move: 

                a. Whenever an unpublished file is moved in desktop to some other place within the same project, an unpublished file will be uploaded in the cloud with the same name at the new (moved) location.

            

                b. Whenever a published file is moved in desktop to some other place within the same project, original file will be downloaded (still as published) to the original place, i.e. the place where the file was located before being moved.


        4. File Rename:

                a. Whenever an unpublished file is renamed in desktop, the same will be renamed in the cloud as well.


                b. Whenever a published file is renamed in desktop, an unpublished file is uploaded to cloud with the new name. No change happens on the published original file name on the cloud and the same is downloaded back on the                             desktop (still as published).


        5. Delete Folder from Desktop: Whenever a folder is deleted in desktop containing

  • Only unpublished files:  No action will be taken as folder will not be deleted in cloud.
  • Only published files:
    • No changes on cloud i.e., folder will not be deleted on cloud.
    • Same folder will be downloaded (with all published files) on the desktop.
  • Both published and unpublished files:
    • No changes on cloud i.e., folder will not be deleted on cloud.
    • Same folder will be downloaded to the desktop, containing only published files.


        6. Move Folder from Desktop: Whenever a folder is moved in desktop containing,

  • Only unpublished files: The original folder in cloud will not be deleted. A new folder will be uploaded in the new (moved) location along with all the files. (All files will be uploaded as unpublished)
  • Only published files:
    • A new folder will be created on the cloud at the new location, with all files uploaded inside the folder as unpublished.
    • Same folder will be downloaded (with all published files) to the original place on the desktop.
  • Both published and unpublished files:
    • No effect on cloud i.e. the folder is not moved in cloud.
    • A new folder will be created at cloud (at moved location) with all files uploaded as unpublished. Also, the original folder will be downloaded back, at the original location containing only published files.


        7. Rename Folder from Desktop: Whenever a folder is renamed in desktop the same is renamed in cloud.


Unsyncing a folder

After the start of the synchronization process, the unsyncing of one or more folders (while project is in sync state; folder cannot be unsynced while project synchronization is paused) will not result into the deletion of the unsynced folders and its contents at the local system. The items downloaded into the local system from SKYSITE PROJECTS or items uploaded to SKYSITE PROJECTS from local system, till the instance at which the synchronization is stopped, will remain on the local system (not deleted).


If a new revision is created locally then a conflict is generated, wherein the user either can select the server version (version of file present in SKYSITE PROJECTS app in web) or local version. If local version is selected, a new revision is uploaded to the server.


The server structure (folders structure in SKYSITE PROJECTS) for that folder is matched against the local structure (folders present in local drive) and only new revisions or new files are downloaded. Also, any file which is there in server but not in local (due to a delete) will be downloaded. If there is any new file locally, then that file is going to be uploaded to SKYSITE PROJECTS.


Unsyncing a project

When you unsync a project, the project gets in deleted in the local system along with the associated files & folders.


However, during unsyncing a project a confirmation will be shown as below,


Upload only

Selection of the Upload Only radio-button under the Preference tab of the SKYSITE PROJECTS Sync application allows one-way synchronization (upload only) between the local system and SKYSITE PROJECTS. Files will only be uploaded from the synced local system to SKYSITE PROJECTS but deleting files & folders inside local system will not be reflected in SKYSITE PROJECTS.


Features of upload:

  • Copying or placing any file within one of the synchronized and replicated folders existing in the local system leads to automatic uploading of the file within the folder with the same name present in SKYSITE PROJECTS.
  • Once the upload is complete, deletion of files locally will not result into the changes getting reflected to the server i.e. files deleted locally will not result into the deletion of that same file in SKYSITE PROJECTS. However, if a file is renamed; a new file will be uploaded by the same name. Similarly, if a file/folder is moved, the old file/folder will not be deleted but the moved object in target location will be uploaded.